the act of eating


Popcorn Container

It’s day four and I’m not hungry but I miss food. Actually, it would be more accurate to say I miss eating and all the things it entails – bringing family together in the kitchen, preparing and cooking, the smell and anticipation of eating and then the enjoyment of chewing and relishing.

You see, I’ve been on a very strict detox – four days in in fact and yesterday I thought I might die. My head was throbbing, my stomach was in turmoil and it felt like I was experiencing some crazy sweats during the night. The result, I woke up feeling tired and groggy and resentful. But this afternoon I feel like a new woman. You can read all about what I’ve been going through in the January issue of Marie Claire South Africa magazine. I still haven’t decided if I want to go into the nitty gritty with you on this blog.

And the one thing I really feel like eating: popcorn. One more day to go and I’m home free.

Leave a Reply

