tumblr vs wordpress


Since I read about Tumblr inviting some poplar fashion bloggers on their platform to an all-expenses trip to New York for NYFW… I started to regret my choice of platform. don’t get me wrong, I love WordPress – but it seems to me Tumblr is much more hip and sexy. So after googling the pros and cons of blogging on the two platforms, I discovered I’m not alone. Simply google wordpress vs tumblr and you’ll get many articles like this one by freshid.com… I’ve been on blogger and truthfully – I fell out of love with it pretty quickly – so I’m ignoring it completely…

Of all the ones I read, I loved this one written by bloginstall.com – it outlines the pros and cons succinctly… and after reading it I’ve decided to stick with wordpress for now. Even if it does cost to use your own domain, I think the pros far outweigh the pros on tumblr – sexy or not.

Tumblr – Superfast micro-blogging Tunblr is a micro blogging enviroment for simple, quick blogging with support for posts, images, quotes, video, audio and links – all you need to get your message out as quick as possible. A simple interface for super fast blogging. Not feature extensive as the others.. but that is the beauty of the beast. Quick and simple, great for personal and quick blogging.

Pros
– Tumblr’s backend is stylish
– 3rd party tools for Tumblr
– large array of themes (but less than wordpress)
– Easy managment from your phone
– Using your own domain on tumblr is FREE
– Can use Google Analytics to measure your traffic

Cons
– Troublesome archives
– Need to tag to support search
– Limited flexibility and plugin support
– No direct RSS feed
– Does not expand easly
– No built in commenting

WordPress – hosted on wordpress.com For a personal blog that has no commercial value or no intent to become commercial I would recommend using the free wordpress.com blogging platform, it is simple to setup and incldues a selection of wordpress features that would expect to install yourself. The ease of the hosted wordpress.com platform is great if you do not want to pay for your own web hosting and if you don’t want to have the hassle of handling the wordpress installation on your own webhost. Also here you can add your own domain for $15 / year or map a already purchased domain for $10 / year. So if you don’t require custom design, custom plugins and other customizations it would be a good option to start with. Note that there are many popular plug-ins that are highly recommended that are not included on the wordpress.com blogs.

Pros
– Dozens of gorgeous themes
– Integrated stats system
– Commenting with anti-spam built-it
– Good support community
– Mulitlanguage support

Cons
– Using you own domain cost $10 / $15 a year
– Limited plugin support, can not install your own plugins
– Custom CSS / additional storage costs extra
– Ads shown from time to time
– Can not optimize for SEO

7 thoughts on “tumblr vs wordpress

  1. Great post! Thank you for the Fresh ID post reference and completely agree that Tumblr is pulling ahead in the “hip and sexy” category…especially in the fashion/art/design world. We play in both sandboxes with our main company site/blog sitting on WordPress and our executive team personal blogs being updated on the Tumblr platform. I think it comes down to what you really need from your blog platform and then as you and bloginstall.com so clearly captured, what pros and cons are most important to you.

    Cheers,
    Lisa Qualls
    CEO, Fresh ID

  2. I was torn between the two when my wife wanted to start a new blog, babymine.net
    We have a blog with blogger, http://www.hitherandthither.net which I like, but I do think wordpress has a sleeker look. Tumblr seems best for photo based blogs…
    The hardest thing seems to be moving from one to another.

    • Tks for the visit Aron. I love your blog http://www.hitherandthither.net – such evocative images; and also your wife’s http://www.babymine.net which I recently visited. Agreed- tumblr wins hands down for photo-based blogs. And it’s wicked when you view it on a mobile phone unlike wordpress. I’m actually about to move my blog onto a different domain and the thought of doing so is quite daunting. But I’d always planned to changed the name of my blog when I figure out what it’s actually about. I shall have to do a blog post about it once I figure it out. Perhaps if you ever want to make the switch it’ll help you too 😉 Happy blogging!

  3. Thanks for reconfirming my choice of wordpress…not that I was looking to move, unless of course I decide to turn a profit from something or other. Again…thanks for the doing the research. Really appreciate your work. 🙂

  4. Pingback: goodbye giveaway | a lady like me

Leave a Reply

