this is not a movie review: sofia coppola’s somewhere


This is the most exquisitely melancholy movie I’ve seen in a while. My husband says he was mildly disappointed. I’m not sure what more he was expecting having watched and loved Lost in Translation and The Virgin Suicides. Though for me, I feel I would not have enjoyed either quite as much as I did if it hadn’t been for their outstanding soundtracks. But truth be known, in the succinct words of my colleague – ‘I love movies where nothing happens’. We both agree that this genre of film is among our favourites.

Steven Dorff and Elle Fanning were perfectly cast in this film though I never would have imagined that Sofia Coppola would have made such a clever choice. Especially after casting Kirsten Dunst as Marie Antoinette who I completely blame for the movie’s failure. She and that awkward Justin Schwartzmann. And because I went into the movie without knowing what the plot was, I shall end this post saying nothing more than – suspend disbelief and prepare to be gently moved – it’s the only way you’re going to appreciate this film’s quiet brilliance. Although still I’m sure there’ll be mixed reviews.

Leave a Reply

