mix tape


One of the things I promised myself this year was to make more time for my music. Just me. And my music. I used to be such a music hound – always up to date with the latest and hottest tunes (not commercial), spending hours getting to know my favourites… I even used to DJ. And now I’m lucky if I listen to half a CD on the way home from work.

Does anyone else find that the older they’re getting the more distant they get from the things that really speak to the heart of them. Or perhaps it’s just that time of my life – when there are so many things competing for my attention: my child, my husband, my family and friends, my work, staying up to date with the latest news, writing, social networking, blogging, iPadding, surfing the net, researching, cleaning, BBming, talk shows, cooking, driving, reading magazines, design and layout, travel, meetings, emails, smses… The problem is I love doing all of the things listed above… but I scarce have time to do the things that allow me to be just me.

And that’s why I love blogging. And also one of the reasons I started this blog. For me. To try to recapture (and reconnect) with the things I’ve somehow lost touch with. And so while I type, I’m treating my ears and my heart to the sound of The Smiths, Aim, Diana Ross, Billie Holiday, Koop, Elbow, Aretha Franklin… and I’m making myself a mix tape. Okay, nowadays it’s called a playlist but I like to think of it as a mix tape.

2 thoughts on “mix tape

  1. Fell asleep listening to Bon Iver last night… And Elbow was our soundtrack driving to Penny and Adam’s wedding :D. Even though you’re far away we’re still on the same page. Will have to get hold of Guy Garvey, Little Dragon and Patrick Watson…

Leave a Reply

