this post does not warrant a picture


So I had my hurr done. I was a little disappointed by the fact that Gary Rom, though they do black hair, don’t do corn rows, singles or braids *crickets*

When I speak to my hair stylist Sonny Boy, he says, ‘it takes too long’, which is true . You can spend an entire day, sometimes a day and a half squirming in the same chair while your hair is pulled and twisted and yanked in all sorts of directions. Eina! So it’s not that they don’t do it – it’s just that Sonny Boy doesn’t. He’s never done it, he adds, a little bashfully I might add. So what are my options then? ‘Not much’, he says. Especially after I’ve told him I don’t want to straighten and I sure as hell don’t want a weave. Nothing against them – just can’t afford the maintenance. Been there done that.

So he suggests I texture my hair – which requires applying relaxer, gently massaging and then removing it moments later so as to vusa the curls rather than straightening. Then he suggests colour – a dye that’s a few shades lighter than my complexion. I’m skeptical but allow the master to work. Once he’s finished he gently twists my hair with gel and the result: an updated, healthier more moisturized version of the hurr I came in with. The only thing I was really excited about was the fact that the dye didn’t take. My hair is too dark and will require several layers of dyeing before Sonny’s desired colour manifests.

I did leave with some interesting tips on how to look after everything from weaves to fros – and will share those with you in Marie Claire’s August hair supplement.

 

 

4 thoughts on “this post does not warrant a picture

  1. Oh come on Zodwa, a pic won’t hurt.

    I’m the most impulsive person when it comes to hairstyles. I probably change my hair about 3 times (max) a year. Can’t wait for the tips.

    P.S. I want to move in with your blog. LOVE IT!

    • Thanks for the kind words Tumelo. If I had taken a photo on the day I had my hair done, I might have posted it but now I can’t seem to get it back to ‘salon state’.

      Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

Leave a Reply

