my blog of the week


I’m trying to decide whether to stick with the natural or go with a kiff new slick style. Yes I know it’s a topic I revisit more often than not… bear with me. So while pinning my interests this morning (it’s one of the best ways to start the day) I came across this blog.

Here’s the British lady behind Natural Belle – and I see she’s sporting the hair that I’ve been trying to track down for the past six months. I think it’s called Kinky Afro. Apparently it’s few and far between here in Cape Town and when it does come in, it goes quickly – so the ladies of the Mowbray hair scene tell me.

I’m totally loving her hair inspiration images and particularly inspired by all the curls. My hair is looking like a B-grade version of Solange’s do. I would post a pic but chickened out when I spied my chubby cheeks…

And get a load of these curls! Oh Thandie – such an exquisite beauty.

And then of course you can blow your curls out and do this. Reminds me of my sister Zanele who’s really good with her hands. Me, I can only plait someone else’s hair – I don’t know how she manages to do her own so nicely.

4 thoughts on “my blog of the week

  1. trying to get my Nic into dreads but what does this whitey know about afro hair?! I took him to a salon in Melville where he proceeded to tell everybody that he wants hair like Bob Marley. Brought the house down. Anyways, apparently its still too short and my learning continues….

Leave a Reply

