frock inspiration at cannes 2012


Whenever this time of year comes by – I cringe and want to cry and laugh all at the same time. About two years ago I was supposed to go to Cannes Film Festival to write a travel feature. My ticket was booked, my Visa was being processed and I was rearing to go. Or so I thought. You see, I had just stopped breastfeeding Maya and it was due to be the first long trip I would be making without her. I’d prepared myself for the separation. I was super excited – or so I thought. I could imagine myself swanning around waving my press badge and Marie Claire connection trying to work my way into the hottest parties and press junkets. Sadly it was not to be because for some reason I thought I had lost my passport. I can’t remember now why I needed it so urgently. Anyway, I couldn’t find it anywhere. I searched every where and even enquired about applying for an emergency one. I think I was due to fly in a couple of days so it was too late. And I had to cancel. Unfortunately my brain never clicked on to the fact that my passport was not lost but sitting at the embassy along with some other important documents. I had handed it in when I’d applied for my visa. Duh! Idiot! *in Napoleon Dynamite voice*

Obviously I wasn’t ready to leave Maya just yet – or perhaps it was fate and the universe’s way of saving me from a really crap time at Cannes. Yeah, that’s what I keep telling myself…

So, forget that story – here are my picks for best dressed so far at Cannes. In terms of the fashion calendar it doesn’t bring out the most fashion-forward of frocks, but who can resist a red carpet…

Eva Herzigova in Dolce & Gabbana. Ever regal.

Jessica Chastain in Alexander McQueen. She’s so hot right now!

Marion Cottilard in Dior. I’m not usually a fan of the swetheart neckline but loving this frock. Her day time Dior pick was just as lovely.

 

Eva Longoria – I really only like the back detail.

Pics via Harper’s Bazaar

Leave a Reply

