freelancing, tax and shopping


My husband’s been nagging me to get my business in order, literally. Well, in terms of tax anyway. I haven’t decided whether I’m going all the way with freelance editing and writing but one thing I know for sure: I sure ain’t gonna be paying R20 000 to the tax man so best I commit to doing it properly while I am.

So I spoke to a financial adviser and she suggested I shop. Yes, you heard right. The idea is to spend money on your business – like buying furniture, office equipment… so I can claim for it when I file. I just need to keep the receipts. So first things first. I need a desk. What do you think of this one from Vamp Furniture in Woodstock. Damage: R2650. Bit pricey non?

Leave a Reply

