green with envy (jealousy)


How talented and clever is this lady. I’m soooo envious of her talent. Her name is Izziyana Suhaimi and she describes herself and her work:

‘Endlessly curious. My work primarily involves the use of embroidery. I am interested in collapsing the boundaries between traditional and popular cultures and exploring the links that exist between these two. My work examines how this particular mishmash manifests itself in modern times, especially concerning modern youths. Preferring to work with craft-based techniques, I am attracted to the evidence of the hand and its time-consuming aspect, which runs counter to the instant gratification and mass-production centred age of today. My works have been exhibited in Singapore, the Philippines, Taiwan and Japan.’

If you want to buy her work, you can mail her on izziyanasuhaimi@gmail.com

9 thoughts on “green with envy (jealousy)

  1. when i was a kid, my parents went to spain & portugal and sent us some postcards that remind me of these works: the drawn image of a young portuguese / spanish girl but the local or national costume that she wore had the skirts as pieces of fabric that stuck out of the card, 3D.
    Zodwa, i think you need drawing lessons – the images you like are very similar; something is calling you…

    • Oh wow do you still have them? The postcards?
      Anne Marie – I’ve become obsessed with this style of illustration… I did art in school but the only sketch I remember doing is my end of year prac. A very lack lustre looking rose bud. I was quite proud of the finished product but I wonder if I have anything more in me. By more I mean anything close to these tyes of drawings. Are they all similar? I must put them all together and compare…

      Thanks for popping in ;D

Leave a Reply

