friends in business: the kliphouse


When I was pregnant with Maya, my sister and one of my best friends, Karin put on the most amazing baby shower! Whenever I think about it I still tear up because as much as you know your friends and family love you, when they show you, it’s like an out of body experience… it was a wonderful day of beautiful messages, balloons, decadent food and a movie theatre all to ourselves playing videos of some of my favourite old skool tunes!

I mention it because the location of my baby shower was at Karin’s parents place in Henley on Klip (where Oprah Winfrey Leadership Academy is) where the family used to run a wonderful market. And now my talented friend Karin who has always had a flair for hosting (and styling) has opened up The Kliphouse – there’s a restaurant called Etc, a movie theatre with cosy red chairs and soft lamp lighting… and it’s growing… you must pop in there!

I’m so inspired by her!

One thought on “friends in business: the kliphouse

  1. talking of being inspired, i have just come back from a visit with the 100-year old Barbara Tyrrell, whose retrospective is on at the SA National Gallery in CT. hope it comes up to Jhb as you really must see it. Zodwa, this is for you – see Barbara’s images, drawn many years ago, and relish the extraordinary clothes that she drew & painted. i sorrow for the bland clothes that many wear today.

Leave a Reply

