talking headphones


My first set of headphones one of my closest girlfriends, Penny bought for me back when I was a DJ at Rhodes Music Radio. God I miss those days… student radio is just about as good as it gets when you’re all about the music. You get to play exactly what you want! Fellow DJ RMR Phiona Okumu said something along the lines of ‘what I would do for just one set…’ which summed up my sentiments exactly.
Alas, that set of headphones was lent to a cousin who was studying music engineering at the time and I never saw them again. I miss them so.

And then I fell in love with the Benetton headphones while we were in Barcelona last year, which I paid the equivalent of I think, R300. Mine are lumo green in colour. What a waste I tell you. Gorgeous as they are, and nice as the sound is, that’s about as far as it goes. Comfort is key and I couldn’t go more than 15 minutes without feeling like my head was being squeezed to the point of headache. Still sexy little mofo’s though.

Enter Plattan headphones by Urbanears. I’d read quite a few reviews about them and was ever so excited and grateful to be gifted by The Core Group. The sound is rich enough and crisp enough to allow you to enjoy the music loud without rendering you deaf after an hour’s listening pleasure. And you could wear them for days without minding… But perhaps the best part? the headphones come with a Zoundplug on the ear cap so a friend can plug in and enjoy your tunes witchoo!

They retail for about R600 at Myistore

2 thoughts on “talking headphones

Leave a Reply

